Hypnotic Groove’s Best of 2015

Photo: Hypnotic Groove

Inverness based collective Hypnotic Groove have been on the rampage this year. With weekly podcasts starring up and coming talent from The Highlands to Mexico, as well as more established acts like Timothy J Fairplay and Scott Fraser, Drvg Cvltvre, and Andreas Gehm, it’s been a weekly foray into the very best sounds in underground dance music, with contributors carefully chosen by HG bosses Johnny Wilson and Andrea Mackintosh.

In June this year they also began Hypnotic Groove Records, with releases from Wing (listen to the fantastic ‘Drums on Saturn’ below) Romplex, CJW and OpziO quickly outlining their impeccable taste in house and techno.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/225120890″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”50″ iframe=”true” /]

As well as joining us for our return to Blitz a few months back and launching their own raucous night in their hometown (listen to our Bail’s set from that here), 2016 promises even more top drawer releases, mixes, techno heavy radio shows (tune into Andrea’s latest Fnoob Radio show here), and gigs across the country. It made total sense then to find out which tracks they’ve particularly rated over the past 12 months.

Keep up to date with Hypnotic Groove on Soundcloud/Twitter/Facebook.

Johnny Wilson

(in no particular order)

Perth Drug Legend ‘Hillend Hyper Squad’

Joey Anderson ‘Back Draft’

Nothing But Blood ‘White Of The Eye’ (Silent Servant remix)

Fit Siegel ‘Carmine’

Trevino ‘Eclipse’


Cliff Lothar ‘Tugeda’ (Kid Gloves Off remix)

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/221678224″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”50″ iframe=”true” /]

Black Fan ‘In The Water’


Timothy J Fairplay ‘Dr Lazarus’

Black Merlin ‘Orbit’

Randomer & Cadans ‘Angry Fiddle’

Andrea Mackintosh

(in no particular order)

IVVVO ‘Our Journey’

Nehuen ‘Alexander Technique’

Pangaea ‘New Shapes in the Air’

Mark Forshaw ‘The Fuck’

Dax J ‘Escape The System’

Manse ‘Sky Remit’


Photonz ‘Shadow Self’

Future 16 ‘Filaments pt. 4’ (Zadig Remix)

Truss ‘Clawdd Du’

Marcus Marr ‘Brown Sauce’

Like this? Check out Polypores’ Best of 2015 here.